Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame

The Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame was established in 1991 to honor Oklahoma writers who have made major contributions to American literature while living and writing in Oklahoma. Initiated by Joye Swain, it was later directed by Teresa Miller, founder and long-time director of  The Oklahoma Center for Poets and Writers at OSU-Tulsa. Upon her retirement from OSU-Tulsa in 2015, Miller entrusted the Hall of Fame to the Center for Oklahoma Studies and the OSU Library, where its legacy lives on.

The Oklahoma Oral History Research Program is one of the founding units of the Center for Oklahoma Studies, and the OOHRP’s “Deep Roots” project has close affinities with the Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame. Both celebrate the state’s authors and their broader contributions to literary culture, and we hope that synergy will enhance both efforts in the years to come.

Inductees to the Oklahoma Writers Hall of Fame:

2019: Teresa Miller

2014: Joy Harjo

2013: Anna Myers

2011-2012: P.C. Cast

2009-2010: Joyce Carol Thomas

2007-2008: N. Scott Momaday

2005-2006: Jim Lehrer

2003-2004: Rilla Askew

2001-2002: Jay Cronley

2000: Clifton Taulbert

1999: Billie Letts

1998: S.E. Hinton

1997: William Bernhardt, Darcy O’Brien, Rennard Strickland

1995-1996: Robert Conley, Georgina Gentry, Mel Odom, Dian Curtis Regan, Michael Wallis

1994: Deborah Chester, Connie Feddersen, Bessie Holland Heck, Judith Henry Wall

1993: Carolyn G. Hart, George E. Stanley, Robert Trevathan

1992: Jack M. Bickham, Deborah Camp, Jean Hager, Glenn Shirley

1991: C.J. Cherryh, Robert Duncan, Marilyn Harris, Harold Keith, Sara Orwig, Dwight V. Swain

In Memoriam: John Berryman, Angie Debo, Ralph Ellison, John Hope Franklin, R.A. Lafferty, Doug Mariette, Lynn Riggs, Sequoyah, Woody Guthrie